The 2010 Communication Theory Workshop

Home Call for Posters Program Registration Hotel Organizing Committee Local Attractions Travel Grants

IEEE IEEE ComSoc CTW 2009 CTW 2008 CTW 2007 CTW 2006 CTW 2005 CTW 2004




Updates | Sponsors | Information


May 10-12

Advance Registration
April 15, 2010

Poster Submission Deadline
March 1, 2010

Bio - Thomas L. Marzetta

Return to Program

Thomas L. Marzetta was born in Washington, D.C. He received the Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1978 under supervision of Prof. Arthur B. Baggeroer.  His dissertation extended the three-way equivalence of autocorrelation sequences, minimum-phase prediction error filters, and reflection coefficient sequences to the two-dimensional case.  He worked for Schlumberger-Doll Research from 1978 to 1987 to modernize geophysical signal processing for petroleum exploration. From 1987 to 1995 he headed a group at Nichols Research Corporation which improved automatic target recognition, radar signal processing, and video motion detection. He joined Bell Laboratories in 1995 (formerly AT&T, then Lucent Technologies, now Alcatel-Lucent). Since 2002 he has had supervisory responsibilities in areas that include communication theory, statistics, and signal processing. His research specializes in multiple antenna wireless with a particular emphasis on the acquisition and exploitation of channel state information.

Dr. Marzetta was a member of the Sensor Array and Multichannel Technical Committee of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (2000 - 2003), and he has served as associate editor for two IEEE journals, and as guest associate editor for the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing Special Issue on Signal Processing Techniques for Space-Time Coded Transmissions (Oct. 2002), and for the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory Special Issue on Space-Time Transmission, Reception, Coding and Signal Design (Oct. 2003). He was the recipient of the 1981 ASSP Paper Award from the IEEE Signal Processing Society. He was elected a Fellow of the IEEE in January, 2003.

Except where otherwise noted, content on this
site is licensed under a Creative Commons
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.5 License